Judiciary of India

The Indian Judiciary administers a common law system of legal jurisdiction, in which customs, precedents and legislation, all codify the law of the land. It has in fact, inherited the legacy of the legal system established by the then colonial powers and the princely states since the mid-19th century, and has partly retained characteristics of practices from the ancient  and medieval times.

There are various levels of judiciary in India – different types of courts, each with varying powers depending on the tier and jurisdiction bestowed upon them. They form a strict hierarchy of importance, in line with the order of the courts in which they sit, with the Supreme Court of India at the top, followed by High Courts of respective states with district judges sitting in District Courts and Magistrates of Second Class and Civil Judge (Junior Division) at the bottom.


  • Chief Justice Of High Court
  • Addl.Justice/Registrar General
  • Subordinate Justice
  • District Judge
  • Add.District Judge (A.D.J)
  • S.P.L Judge
  • Session/Criminal Judge
  • Sub -Divisional Magistrate (S.D.M)
  • Chief Judicial Magistrate(C.J.M)
  • Addl. Chief Judicial Magistrate(A.C.J.M)
  • Civil Judge (Sr.Division)
  • Secretary Magistrate
  • Judicial Magistrate
  • Judge(Jr.Division)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *